Do You Have To Chew So Loud?!

When I was younger, it was my sister.

Then it was my roommate.

And now, it’s my love, Tim.

I’m not sure what it is that drives me so crazy, but some little noises drive me up the wall. Sometimes, I just need to leave the room they annoy me so bad.

The sound of someone chewing has always driven me crazy. Ugh, just thinking about it makes me angry.

As I got older, other noises started to get to me, too. For example: my dog licking her paws (it literally wakes me in the middle of the night); a pen clicking (not mine by the way); someone biting their nails; a high-pitched whistle…

I could go on.

It’s not that every noise bothers me or that loud noises bother me. I actually prefer the TV and my music loud. I guess I really don’t know what it is.

Or rather, I didn’t. The New York Times recently published an article on people who have the same type of “sound sensitivity” that I do. Apparently, I’m not alone.

So either I have misophonia, “a newly recognized condition that remains little studied and poorly understood” … or I’m just crazy and need to lighten up. Either way, there isn’t a “cure” and the paw-licking, nail-biting, food-chewing ruckus will continue to drive me up the wall.

Excellent!!

Leave a Reply

