But If I Don’t Write Things Down…

Sometimes life gets a little hectic.

Here is where my trusty planner comes into play.

For as long as I can remember, I have carried one around. Every year, I get a new one and update it with everyone’s birthdays and anniversaries.

I write every scheduled bit of my life down, feeling satisfied that it is all so nicely organized.

Yes, that is a little crazy, but according to The New York Times I’m not alone.

I don’t know what it is, but if I don’t write things down I will just forget.

I got my smartphone about four years ago and started using the notes app right away, but that doesn’t seem to help.

My purse is always full of Post-its scribbled with reminders. I have tons of to-do lists strewn about my apartment and on my phone. I have alarms on the calendar (bills, medications for my dog, etc.), but not my work schedule, vacations or meetings.

It was only this last month that I really took advantage of the calendar and the Gmail-calendar-syncing function.

I have to say that it all does look really neat on my phone. Having everything in one place is kind of nice. And if I need to change anything, it all syncs immediately.

As for my paper planner… it’s still in my purse. I haven’t been able to part with it yet. Nothing new has been added, but my separation anxiety is still too strong.

One thought on “But If I Don’t Write Things Down…

Leave a Reply

