Storing Some Celery

I made a quick stop by the supermarket before work this morning, and since I’m trying to eat better I picked up some celery.

My issue with buying celery is that you can either buy a lot for a little money or buy a little for a lot of money. Of course, being the money saver that I am, I always opt for the “buy a lot.” Which then leaves me with a ton of celery that goes bad within a few days.

Enough I say!

I know there are tons of ways people keep their celery fresh for longer, but here is how I do it.

Step 1: Pluck celery off into individual stalks.

Step 2: DO NOT WASH! Seriously, if you wash your celery it will only wilt and decay faster. Normally I would say “Eww, gross. You’re not going to wash those and then you’re just going to cut them?? (see step 3…)” But I wipe away excess dirt and moisture with a DRY paper towel. And when I am ready to use a piece of celery, I wash and the trim off the dry ends. … See? Germ free 🙂 … Or so I’d like to imagine.

Step 3: Cut away leaves and bottoms (this is optional, but if you don’t at least make sure to dry the leaves really well).

Step 4: Lay all of the pieces out side-by-side on a paper towel and roll up.

Step 5: Wrap completely with foil. Yes, foil. I don’t know why. But it works. Like magic… or science.

Step 6: Put your packet of celery in a Ziplock bag and put it in the fridge.

Ta da! Your celery will last up to two weeks or maybe more… Or at least mine did the last time I did this.

 

Leave a Reply

